Help with Bike speedo

headshot_deluxe

Hi, im making a bike speedo for a school project and im not sure how to do the programming. i am completely new to picaxe. i am making a bike speedo using a hall effect sensor and a magnet and im not sure how to use it properly. The only thing i can do is make an led turn on when the magnet is near the hall effect. im using a picaxe-08m chip thing. please help :)

manuka

What level/time/budget/resources? Where are you in NZ? This could be more involved & costly than you think, especially when safety & a LCD display is involved. Perhaps instead consider using an off the shelf bike speedo/odo- such as the popular "Cat Eye". When PICAXE driven this may make a nifty "engine" for other applications! Check the Amp.Hour meter => http://picaxe.orconhosting.net.nz/bikeamph.jpg & => http://www.picaxe.orconhosting.net.nz/bikepcfb.jpg Stan. (Wellington-NZ)

headshot_deluxe

This is for level 2 electronics and im in christchurch. For the project i have to make it myself to gain the credits and i thought it would be fun to make a simple bike speedo. i have the whole term to make it and im not sure about budget

manuka

I assume hence NCET 2 Year 12? Which school ? You really first need more PICAXE experience for such a quest I'd say. Bike speedos are very compact,cheap & abundant items anyway- I'd worry that a bulky PICAXE version mounted on a bike may be prone to wheel tangling etc while you're fine tuning. This is no idle concern- I had similar happen myself (as a teenager) with a dynamo driven electronic project! The sudden jolt threw me off the bike onto a gravel road. Even worse fates may occur in traffic... Can't you alter the project scope ?

The code for the Ah meter was deceptively simple-
Code:
'bikeamph.bas for Picaxe-08M driven 'CATEYE Velo1' bike computer conversion.
'Suits educational output current monitoring of small 1W PV or wind gene 
'via simple 1W 1 Ohm supply shunt resistor, with voltage readadc10 measured.