HELP WANTED on Mars [beacon light]

joemahma

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLmAjVua0r4

As a noob to this forum, and to Picaxing in general, my first post requesting help with a lighting problem for my homebuilt aircraft was met with unusually kind and competent solutions. I must thank Pete, AKA SAborn, for his extraordinary patience and knowledge in helping me solve my wingtip strobe issues. Not sure I'll EVER find a way to pay Pete back.

That said, the FAA gives homebuilders some latitude on anti-collisions lighting, and I stumbled across the linked page which as intended for model builders, but if I can duplicate this circuit, I can bump those 5 volts via a mosfet to accommodate my 12 volt electrical system. I'm hoping it can be duplicated with an 08M or 14M2 chip, but not sure. I'm not sure of the origin of the circuit, but it may be commercial. Since I'm new to this Picaxe world, would I be getting myself into trouble if the circuit could be copied and adapted, or what would YOU guys recommend?

Whatever the case, I thought it couldn't hurt to ask. And being married, I'm pretty used to hearing the word "NO"! OBTW, the little strobe effect in the middle of the ramping up and down cycle is EXCELLENT. Federal Aviation Regs say that a pilot has to kill his strobes while anywhere but on the runway and while in flight. The rotating beacon, or anti-collisions light usually gets switched on prior to engine start, so I don't think there's an issue, but with FEDS, a fellow just never knows for sure!

I'll offer my gratitude up front, and say THANKS to SAborn one more time. You saved my bacon!
joe

Goeytex

You don't really need to duplicate the circuit per se, just the functionality/ effect .

Should be fairly straight forward with either an 8m or a 14M2 using a varying PWM..

There should be no problem with doing that. Problems can arise when you reverse
engineer a product, duplicate it, and then sell it as your own design. I don't see you
doing that here.

Goey