help needed to calibrate a potentiometer and a few other things

Hi to everyone.
I am relatively new to programming, but I am pleased I found picaxe. It seems alot easier to understand than arduino and seems to be (in my opinion) supported better with good documentation.
The problem I have is that I would like to know how to calibrate 2 potentiometers so that they can be used to proportionately control the period and duty cycle of a pwm output.
I have read the manuals but I could not really find the answer.

Another question, Can someone tell me if it is possible to make analog outputs with picaxe?

Last question could someone please take the time to explain in layman's terms the difference between hexadecimal and ordinary language.
I have the programming picaxe book and it seems to switch between the 2 types (more if you include binary etc.) but I find it is not too clear for a novice and when I see things like %02, I have no idea how to interpret it, or how to translate it into normal code.
I would prefer to stick to just basic language if at all possible

Many thanks

Steve

Paix

Code:
100       ; 100 decimal

$64       ; 64 hex
0x64      ; 64 hex note two methods or representing it.

%01100100 ; 01100100 binary
binary 0 1, base 2
decimal 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9, base 10
hexadecimal 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F, base 16
so the value of A 10, B 11, C 12, D 13, E 14 and F 15.

So $0A is 10 and $1A is 25 (15 + 10)

Does that make you any the wiser?

Whilst sticking with decimal may be convenient for a lot of things,
binary will show you the pattern which is very helpful and hex goes a long way
to being a good halfway house with less typing. Where bits matter, keep typing . . . binary is best :)

I'll leave someone else to explain the main course of your question. It doesn't look difficult, but obviously has a few gotchas for those that rush in.

Code:
100       ; 100 decimal

$64       ; 64 hex
0x64      ; 64 hex note two methods or representing it.