Help for a newbee

unoduetre

Hello to all. I'm a total newbee and looking for a good samaritan to direct me .
My problem : the picaxe system looks very interesting and I have bought a 28X1 starter pack. My knowledge of electronics is basic but I am interested in learning (I am 49 y.o never too young to learn eh!). I set up the system and like everybody (i think ) made some LEDs flash just to make sure I didn't burn anything. OK - no problems . I wanted to use the servo (seperate 4.8 Volt supply ) control routine as listed in the manual (see below) - I connected the signal wire (yellow for my Hitec servo) directly to the corresponding out pin on the picaxe chip with 330 ohm resistor (NOT to the 8 Darlington transistor IC).

the manuale proposes this routine

init: servo 4,75 ‘ initialise servo
main: servopos 4,75 ‘ move servo to one end
pause 2000 ‘ wait 2 seconds
servopos 4,225 ‘ move servo to other end
pause 2000 ‘ wait 2 seconds
goto main ‘ loop back to start

my servo just runs fully to one extreme end stop and remains blocked there - it's always the same extreme (doesn't do the servo any good obviously)

I have tried changing the pulse value from 4,0 (not recommended) all the way up to 4, 250 (idem) without any difference

Can anybody make a suggestion - I am almost certainly (without a doubt) doing something wrong but I can't figure out what.
Thanks in advance:

ylp88

I assume that you've connected the ground/0V rails of your two power supplies together? You have one rail feeding power to the PICAXE and a separate supply feeding the servo (4.5V supply in your case), however the ground rails to the two must be connected together.

ylp88

unoduetre

hello and thanks for the reply - in answer to your question -yes, indeed I have connected both negative voltages to a common rail but to no avail

crossthreaded