Help: ExpressPCB wont print traces

RogerTango

I am trying out ExpressPCB, and I am happy with it... It does exactly what I want and need, only problem... I cannot get it to print the traces!

I am new to the software so I am sure there is something I have not toggled or enabled or something.

The same thing when I copy the artwork to the clipboard, if I take it to a graphix program and paste, the components and pads are there, but no traces!

Can a PCBE user please offer assistance?

I have tried several others including Eagle, EPCB is the package I am primarily interested in at this time.

http://www.expresspcb.com

Thanks,
Andrew

RogerTango

I can look again when I get home, but I do recall clicking all the boxes various times with no success!

OS here is XP SP2.

Thanks,
Andrew

RogerTango

Okay, I got it... I dont know what I was doing wrong, but I got it.

Right now, Im etching a penny.

Ive got some PCB on order, will be a few daze before it gets here.

The chemicals used, 2 parts hydro to 1 part acid. The acetone is to clean off
the toner after it is etched. Iron transfer is planned.

Bubble, bubble, toil and trouble.. The solution did have some green around
it before I agitated the container.

You can see the copper peeling off the penny. What is under neath?

More to come once I have a level of success.

Thanks to everyone's help!

Cheers,
Andrew

Etchent
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/electronic-projects/23658-cheap-good-pcb-etching-solution.html

Toner Transfer
http://www.qsl.net/vk5cu/

BCJKiwi

You might consider bring the 5V trace off the other side of the 14M pad into the middle of the chip and down through the middle of the bottom 6 pin chip - more efficient power track.

Pads could be a bit larger in dia - helps with soldering and reduces the risk of tracks lifting if you ever need to desolder something.