Have I broken it?

vk3jme

Hello all,

This is my first post, and I'm not sure if it is a good one.

Let me introduce myself.
I'm an IT / Lab tech at my local school.
During my spare time, I enjoy amateur radio.
My bother in law introduced me to PICAXE a few years ago, I have just been waiting for a project to use it on.
I learnt to program z80's about 12 years ago and x86 in assembler about 10 years ago, (too long ago to remember much)

I have a project in the wind of building a APRS radio / GPS controller.
There is a similar device already available, but I want to make a better one!

OK back to my issue with a PICAXE.
I purchased an 18X.
Last night I excitedly interfaced it to my PC and attempted to program it.
I made the programming interface correctly as described, except for instead of a 22K resistor on the Serial input, I used 2x10K resistors in series as I didn't have a 22K.

I was able to talk to PICAXE fine!
I threw together a flow chart, without really reading the instructions.

It was basically:

start:
high 0
wait 1000
low 0
goto start

I can't remember if it was wait 1000 or pause 1000 I used.

I left the high and low commmands as 0, as I thought that high/low 0 used the out port 0.

Now I can't communicate with the picaxe.
My circuit is on a bread board, and I have checked it over and rebuilt it about 10 times now. Everything is fine.
If I apply power to the circuit, I serial out (pin 2) is 0.
If I hold the reset line low and power it on then release the reset line, Serial out goes high. After about 15 minutes, it flashes low for a second or two then returns high.

Have I screwed my picaxe, or is there a way to return it back to factory defaults?

Any help welcome!

Thanks,

Jamie

alpacaman