Getting started

nabenham

Hi,
I'm new to picaxe and this forum. I am hoping I could get some advise to get started, i.e. circuit board and programming. Also the best store for purchases in Australia. Thought a small lighting display first, with a musical tune. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

westaust55

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

To write some programs to flash an LED and understand the PICAXE programming I suggest that you look at PICAXE Manual 1 Tutorials and PICAXE Manual 2 for the programming language.
See here: http://www.picaxe.com/Getting-Started/PICAXE-Manuals/

On this Rev Ed/PICAXE web page you will find distributors for PICAXE hardware in Australia: http://www.picaxe.com/Distributors

In addition you can look at:
1. Jaycar – modules for Arduino that can work with PICAXE
2. Futurlec – www.futurlec.com.au for low cost general components
3. Littlebird Electronics – for components and modules ostensibly for other microcontrollers that can work with PICAXE – They are also “agent” for Sparkfun

stevesmythe

I found the 18M Project Board and associated manual a great way to get started although you do need to be able to do a bit of soldering to use it. For example if you wanted to connect an external LED and piezo sounder. A cheaper option would be the 08M Proto Board but there's even more soldering needed (although it could be a good way to get started).

jims

Welcome nabenham... I tend to be conservative in my approach to developing projects, and I've found that the Picaxe AXE091 Development Board (along with a few Picaxe processor chips) and the Picaxe AXE133Y serial OLED give me a solid base to quickly set-up and try "ideas" before committing them to a Proto board, etc. I can easily copy and paste a program from the FORUM into a processor ; learn how it works, and adapt it if/as necessary for my needs. This has helped me. Jims

manuka