Flight Simulator Interface HELP

ansett727rma

Hi,
I am a beginner to Microcontrollers, but like the look of the PICAXE approach. I would like to develop an interface for a radio stack and autopilot for Microsoft Flight Simulator (FSX). I would asuume that I would use a serial or USB i/o to the picaxe to read/write FSX variables via FSUIPC. I would like to use LCD character displays for Radio frequencies and Autopilot Settings.

1. Has anyone developed a similiar system previously
2. How would FSUIPC variables be written to and from the pICAXE
3. I would like to use at least 4 individual LCD displays (4x20 or 2x40 character). Are Serial or Parallel displays better?
4. Can inputs/outputs of PICAXE be "multiplexed" to provide more switch inputs, more outputs for LED indicators, 7 seg LED arrays, etc.
5. Can "Grey" encoders (quadrature) be connected as "up/down" switches for radio frequency change etc.

Any help would be appreciated

THANK YOU

alband

I fear you may suspect this kind of answer:

1. Not that I know of.
2. Hours at a time. You would either need to edit you flight sim to send the variables or create another program. The first of which would be impossible and the second of which would end up being very crude and even when run at the highest speed, would be too slow. It would also clog up the RAM and probably overload your PC.
3. Serial are easier to connect. I've never had any reason to try parallel as there is mm=ore connections to make. There may however be a reason I've overlooked.
4. I think so. Someone else will know lots about this I sure...
5. Sorry, don't know.

It would be very fun to pull of and I can see the attraction of making your own auto-pilot, but it is something that would have to be done in the PC (preferably in the flight sim to avoid having another program open) not through a wire to a PICAXE.
Even so, if your not familiar with it, look up Visual Basic 6.
Good Luck...:)

pssmith

1. Has anyone developed a similiar system previously