EPROM like look up data

vk3gjm

Hi All,

Please excuse my simply request for information. I am very new to PICAXE and programming, but I consider myself a fast learner.

I am trying to operate 2 sets of 4 relays that control 2 RF attenuators that will give me from zero to 121 dB off attenuation in 1dB steps. I have worked out the relay sequence table and manually programmed an EPROM that delivers the required output from a set of input thumbwheel switches, this works.

However I am keen to explore the use of a 20x2 and use only 2 up/down switches which will be units and tents, this will get me to 121. I an going to drive a basic Serial LCD display to show attenuation, simple and over the top.

My question is, how does one add basic pre-defined values (fixed look up table) which is an attenuation value based on the specific attenuator values used. The attenuator values are 1, 2, 4, 4 and 10, 20, 40, 40 dB, total 121 dB.

Regards

Gerald

moved to Active Forum

Last edited by a moderator:

AllyCat

Hi Gerald,

The lookup could probably be done as easily with some Basic code such as (not complete or tested):
Code:
symbol flagbyte = b0
symbol atten = b1
symbol lowatten = b2
symbol highatten = b3

lowatten = atten // 10       ; needs a modification for 120 and 121
highatten = atten / 10 max 11 ; max is one way to handle 120 and 121 correctly
flagbyte = 0
bit0 = lowatten // 2
bit1 = lowatten / 2 // 2
if lowatten > 3 then 
	bit2 = 1
endif
if lowatten > 7 then
	bit3 = 1
endif
;  etc..
but if you want to do it with a lookup table, then the following code which stores the data into the EPROM should work:

Code:
data 0,(%00000000,%00000001,%00000010,%00000011,%00000100 , , , ,%00001101)   ; etc
data (%00010000,%00010001,,,,,,)  ; etc
read atten,flagbyte
Cheers, Alan.

westaust55

The X2 parts give you the option of a table in EEPROM memory or in TABLE memory (Table memory is embedded within your BASIC program at time of program download and cannot be changed).