Drive 1 LCD with multiple PICAXE's?

dmaxben

Sorry if this is a stupid question...I tried searching but the closest topic/search-result I could find was the "opposite" question (which was "drive multiple LCD's with one PICAXE").

I just started playing around with LCD's for the first time today...I basically made my own "AXE133" with a breadboard, 8x2 LCD, and an extra 18m2 (to drive the parallel LCD) I had. I started with the AXE133 code and now I can get the 18m2 to initialize the LCD and display a welcome message. Very cool!!! Im completely new to microcontrollers and programming in general so I was pretty ecstatic when I flipped the switch and saw ASCII text come up on the LCD. :D

I still have yet to try hooking up a second "Master" PICAXE to send serial (ASCII) data to the 18m2 slave/LCD driver.

However, it got me wondering...is it possible to have multiple PICAXE "co-processors" send serial data to the single display driver? Maybe put a diode on each of the serial-out pins on each Picaxe so when one Picaxe co-processor sends serial data to the LCD driver, it doesnt "backfeed" into the second Picaxe co-processor.

For example, say I have two Picaxes ("widget A" and "widget B") each doing their own thing/performing their own separate functions. Then the third Picaxe (the AXE133) simply listens to the serial-input and drives the single 8-bit-parallel-LCD. 99% of the time, "Widget A" is sending miscellaneous ASCII text to the LCD...but every once in a while, I want to have "Widget A" shut-up for a couple seconds while "Widget B" sends a line of text to the LCD for a couple seconds...then after that, "Widget B" goes back to doing its own "non-LCD-oriented" thing and "Widget A" goes back to its normal job of sending text to the LCD.....