DC motor RPM

Simbad

What is the best way to measure DC motor RPM, I will spin it to produce voltage. I dont know much about the motor, its 24v and 25w
This is my first post and certainly not the last.
Explain please in detail so I dont have to bother you again, I'm new to this micro thing :)

nick12ab

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

Common ways of doing this are to:
  • Use a striped spinning disc with clear and black areas and a 'light gate' (LED + photodiode) to determine how fast the disc (which will be attached to the motor) is spinning
  • Attach a rotary encoder to the motor

Click here for a forum search.

Simbad

Can you please explain what is behind measuring RPM with pulse counting?
In this case I need some additional information about the motor?

nick12ab

Can you please explain what is behind measuring RPM with pulse counting?
In this case I need some additional information about the motor?
You don't need additional information about the motor, you just need to add some external hardware which is attached to the rotating motor shaft.

An example - you make a disc with x equal size black sectors and x transparent sectors the same size as the black ones and these sectors are ordered like this: black clear black clear black clear black clear... You also make a light gate with an LED and photodiode. All these items can be obtained from an old inkjet printer.

Light up the LED, spin the motor and count the pulses from the photodiode. You can determine the RPM from this: RPM = (pulses per second * 60) / number of black segments on disc.

boriz

Another way...

If you watch the motor voltage on a CRO, you'll see a back-EMF spike associated with each commutator pad+brush disconnect. Three spikes per REV I think for a normal three pad armature. So just AC amplify this spike signal and count the spikes-per-second. No encoder hardware required, just an op-amp or transistor amplifier.

Theory...