Curious resetting of 28X1 without debug

Hydroid

Hi All,

First the disclaimer: While I've been working with servos for 30+ years in R/C aircraft, this is my first attempt to integrate them with picaxe......

I thought that since one of my hobbies is R/C aircraft, and I love clocks, it would be appropriate to construct a clock using servos - with the final product having maybe R/C airplane props as hands to complete the theme.

Anyway, I designed a basic setup with three servos, one for hours, one for '10s' of minutes and the third for minutes.

Initially, I had the whole mess on the AXE091 board using the same 5V supply to power everything. I experienced nothing but resets - which I thought might happen given that I know servos are very noisy (electrically). I re-designed my setup on a larger breadboard with twin 7805 regulator based power supplies fed from a dual secondary transformer. One supplies the 1307 RTC and the 28X1picaxe and the other supplies the three servos (diagram attached).

Even with dual supplies, filtering caps and bypass caps on the 1307, the 28X1 and even on the 28X1's reset pin, I still got nothing but resets - evidenced by the three servos executing their start of program sweep test per the code:

Code:
'Servo connections:
'Hours on Out0 (Pin 21)
'10's of minutes on Out1 (Pin 22)
'Minutes on Out2 (Pin 23)
'All servo signal feeds through 330 ohm series resistor.

wait 2								'wait 2 seconds for settling

setfreq m8								'sets operating frequency at power-on
	i2cslave %11010000, i2cslow, i2cbyte			'initiates and sets DS1307 slave address

'Initialize servos							'225 is full CCW, 75 is full CW

servo 0,210
	servo 1,210
	servo 2,210

'Cycle test servos clockwise

b0 = 10								'step delay (Max 255)

for b1 = 218 to 97 step - 1

servopos 0, b1

pause b0

next

for b2 = 220 to 110 step -1

servopos 1, b2

pause b0

next

for b3 = 220 to 103 step - 1

servopos 2, b3

pause b0

next

'Return servos to home position

for b3 = 103 to 220