Controlling a camera using IR

Pauly1980

Hi everyone.

I am contemplating wether or not it is possible to use a picaxe to control my Panasonic HDC-SD9 video camera via IR. The reason for this is that I have been donated an Underwater video housing to use that was designed around the Sony Lanc commands and is not compatible, as a housing for my camera is approx $1200AUD the picaxe approach would seem far better. I have limited experience with the picaxe but can do most basic programming.

I have been unable to locate a Protocol of the Panasonic IR commands so if anyone could help that would be great and any links to other projects that may help me understand how to do IR??

Thanks heaps,

Paul Daniels

Last edited:

mrburnette

I have been unable to locate a Protocol of the Panasonic IR commands ...
For generic IR overview, the document at this link is well written: http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?17303-Infrared-%28IR%29-Communications-Basic-Tutorial

For Panasonic-specific IR, this may give you some insight: http://www.vishay.com/docs/80071/dataform.pdf

I suspect the biggest issue is whether Panasonic used their generic, consumer IR command set with the video camera? The consumer info is located here: ftp://ftp.panasonic.com/pub/Panasonic/Drivers/Monitors/Discrete-remote-control-codesProntoCCFformat.pdf the idea being that you could try some of the inexpensive "universal" remotes and see if you can hit-upon the camera code or at least verify it is/is-not in the consumer range.

mrburnette

Thanks for that info. The link to the ftp link doesn't work, is it correct?

Thanks,
Paul
Link is correct... may be a browser issue as some browsers 'choke' on FTP sites.

Regarding the format... this may help: http://www.etcwiki.org/wiki/Open_CCF_Files
Summary: