Comms over nasty piece of thick copper wire

Hi All,

I am thinking about building a central heating controller that draws data from my weather station to intelligently control my heating.

Please would anyone recommend the (bidirectional) communications mechanism between two X2 series PICAXE chips with the proviso that it must run over approximately 7 or 8 metres of existing three core 1 mm copper cable (not twisted) that is currently installed within the walls of my house. Running new twisted pair is hard work and I have only just decorated so I want to avoid that at all costs.

One of the units will hold the main logic and switch the heating (and communicate with my weather PC via an RFA020/1 pair) and the other unit (at the other end of this wire) will be a display and control unit.

Will 1-wire (which I have never used before) work okay over thick untwisted copper cable or would you recommend something else? I would prefer not radio as I have to get power to the remote control unit anyway.

Thanks for your help.

EDIT: I have just seen that a PICAXE can't be a 1-wire slave (or am I mistaken?) in which case 1-wire is out. The question still stands - what simple options are open to me for bidirectional comms (and power) over 3 conductors of 1mm copper wire about 8 metres?

Last edited:

srnet

Well before trying anything complicated, you have to try standard serial.

Distance wise I would certainly expect it to work, 9600 baud, maybe faster.

How reliable it is would be entirely dependent on the particular location and its electrical environment.

If standard serial works, I would then design some form of error checked messages between the two units.

As you did not say, I assumed there are no other signals or power on the 3 core cable.

Thanks for the link. Unfortunately, I can't find further info, other than that post. He mentioned User Projects / Communication but I can't find that.