code from a book "copyrights"

jinx

am not sure where i stand on this some"most" of the projects am doing derive some of their code in part or whole from two books, if i post the code snippets would this be a infringment of copyright.
jinx

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
That's impossible to definitively answer here. The best bet is to ask the author or publisher if you can post what you have because if they tell you that you can then you should be covered.

inglewoodpete

You really need to provide more information on why you want to use the copyrighted code.

My first question would be: is it for your profit or assessment of your school/university grades?

Is the purpose of your project identical to the copyrighted project?

Is the purpose of your project for your education or research? People publish code for others to test, confirm or improve.

jedynakiewicz

Tricky, tricky, the world of copyright. As an author, I have been in the interesting position of my publishers taking successful legal action against someone for breach of copyright from one of my books. It cost the transgressors many thousands in legal fees and damages. Interestingly, as the author who had simply sold the rights to the book to the publisher, I got nothing from the whole legal action and was not actually involved in the the legal process at all. It was handled entirely by the publishers.

Quoting from a book for the purpose of review or critique is generally acceptable; anything else is generally unacceptable. Read the copyright page of the book at the front of the book; this usually indicates what may be done or otherwise. I think you will find that you are extremely limited in what you can do. Posting up code snippets that show a particular method that is used by the author would almost always be in violation of copyright.

srnet

Would you consider it acceptable to publish code without asking the author ?

Does it have to be a question of pure legality ?

jinx

@ inglewoodpete