Cannot program an 18M chip but other devices okay.

ashleylad

Dear all,

I have programmed many different types of PICAXE without out a hitch.

Last night I was playing on my breadboard creating some programs. I used a few 08M a 14M and a 20M, all no problems. I then plugged in a new 18M which I got from Rapid several weeks ago and it comes up hardware not connected. It's the first time since I started playing with PICAXE that I have tried an 18M. Been pulling my hair out, and finally given up. Do you think it could just be a duff chip, or have I overlooked something with that device. After messing I tried the 20M in place and that was fine.

I have the latest editor software installed.

Thanks in advance.

cheers

Andrew Cowan

The 08M, 14M and 20M all have +V, 0V, serial in and serial out at the top.

However, on the 18 series chips, power is in the middle, and serial in and out are on the left - have a look at the pinout.

You'll need to rewire your breadboard to program one.

Andrew

ashleylad

Hi Andrew thanks for the quick reply. I did not mention I am not a novice in electronics. I have been breadboarding projects for over twenty years. It's the first thing I noticed about the 18 series. It's a shame the power connections are not the same as the others. In my opinion it makes final wiring on a piece of stripboard or pcb easier.

I have wired the connections correctly, and double checked them with my logic probe and a meter, just to make sure.

I also forgot to mention I tried the reset pin with a 4k7 pull up and a momentary switch to ground still nothing, as pointed out on the data sheet.

I have ordered a handful more chips from Rapid and also from Tech Supplies, including the new 18M2 to try.

Hopefully they will be here today and I can prove if the chip is duff or not. Out of all the PICAXE devices and PIC micros and AVRs never had a bad one.

Cheers

Ashley

scoop