Calculating Speed Using Puslin Command

Gomsk4

Hi All,

i am a AS student studying Systems and Control and am making a Speed Trap for a golf club, which displays the speed of the golfers swing to them. having never coded with basic (Only circuit wizard flowcharts) before and struggling to interpret other threads, i am looking for some help with calculating the speed using the PULSIN Command. at the moment my circuit consists of two Laser pointers that will shine directly on 2 LDR's. these allow me to detect when the beams are broken, which turn on and off a flip-flop. Therefore a pulse is received by the chip. if this isn't going to work, feedback is appreciated.

My main concern is the maths to calculate the speed. i looked at other threads with a similar topics but it was all a bit over my head (im a noob). my teacher explained to me the idea that PICAXE uses integer maths, but i still need a bit of help.
i am planning on using a distance of around 2cm between the beams because any wider and the PULSIN command will timeout i think? i will need to be able to record speed from around 10M/s to 80M/s to 1 decimal place at the least.

from other threads i have put together this code but dont know if it will work:

Code:
main: 
 symbol PulsePin = C.1
 symbol Pulse = w1
 Symbol distance = w2
 distance = 64000 
 Speed32 = w3
 SpeedQ= w4
 SpeedR= w5
pulsin PulsePin,1,Pulse
If Pulse = 0 
	goto main
End If 

Speed32 = Distance/Pulse 
SpeedQ = Speed32/32
SpeedR =Speed32//32

serout B.7,N2400,("Your Speed: " SpeedQ"."SpeedR " M/s")
i used 32 to scale the distance (0.02*10^5) as close to 65535 as possible. sorry for the long read. any help appreciated.

Jeremy Harris

Welcome.

I think your first issue is that light dependent resistors have a LOT of latency, typically around 5 to 10 ms, so are not well suited to measuring short time intervals. Also, the latency is temperature and light level dependent, so there is a potential source of variable, as well as fixed, errors.