axe033 message programming i2c

dorfusf

Good day to all.

Can you please help me?
I got a Axe033 connected to a 20x2 in i2c mode and I would like to know how I can program the 8 messages on the axe033 via i2c and display them. I can program the time and display the time and other messages from the 20x2. I'm fairly new to i2c so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

westaust55

Firstly, welcome to the PICAXE forum.

In i2c mode, the AXE033 acts very much like a “dumb” display/device.
Believe that pre-defined messages can only be set up in serial mode.

Last edited:

dorfusf

Thanks Westaust55 for your welcome and reply.

One more Q can you display pre-programmed messages via i2c if you have pre-programmed them via serial?

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
I don't know if it's possible to use I2C to show messages pre-programmed by serial, I suspect not. As you have an AXE033, perhaps the expedient thing is to try it and see what happens, which is what I'd guess any other forum reader would have to do to give you a definitive answer.

westaust55

As mentioned in previous post, the i2c mode is relatively “dumb”.

Untried, but I believe there is no mechanism to create or display a pre defined message in i2c mode.

Section 2 of the datasheet covers i2c comms but there is no mention of pre-defined messages, whereas Section 3 covers serial mode and does detail creation and display of pre-defined messages.

i2c mode enables you to read the time from the DS1307 RTC when fitted but you do lose other features.

BeanieBots

I concur with westaust.
To the best of my knowledge, when using I2C, it is up to you to send everything required to the LCD. Only serial has the extra 'functions' available.

For what it's worth, my approach has always been to use the display in serial mode and fit the RTC on the PICAXE board using the I2C commands. A sort of 'best of both worlds'.

Serial and I2C simultaniously