Any Raspberry Pi webserver folks out there?

jsmanson

I know, this is a picaxe forum, not a Pi forum. However, I'm trying to set a a communication setup between a raspberry Pi running a webserver, through a wiznet 110Sr ethernet to serial converter board to my 40x2 running a water monitoring program. So there is a picaxe in the mix there somewhere!!

I want to be able to call up the Pi server in a remote browser, monitor things, and send commands to the picaxe through the wiznet. At present, I can chat with the picaxe using a telnet session on my windows PC, or on the Pi, without any problem. I send it little action codes, and the picaxe responds back through the wiznet as programmed.

The hard part comes next. I am a complete noob at webservers, I have dabbled a bit with php, and I could probably learn python as that seems to be the programming language of choice on the pi. I'd appreciate any comments from you on what would be the easiest way to host a website which can do this communication. To date, playing around with php and sockets on the pi, I haven't had any success at getting an answer back from the wiznet/picaxe when I just program it (the picaxe) to echo back what it hears. I know that when doing communication using htmp, rather than telnet, the wiznet isn't getting any data through as I can monitor the serial side of the wiznet using a terminal attached to the serial. So I am struggling to figure out how I can get a web server to send out data just like a simple telnet session does.....

Thanks in advance!

John

MPep

Hi John,

I see you've had 24 posts already, so surely you must have realised that this part of the forum is for Finished Projects.
Please re-post in the general forum, where you'll get more responses.

MPep

lbenson

If the R-Pi is running the webserver, what is the wiznet needed for? You can communicate between the R-Pi and the picaxe either via serial or I2C, with the picaxe 40X2 being an I2C slave.