Alphanumeric displays LCD or LED?

Paolo1986

Hello all,

I’m just looking at the available alphanumeric displays which are out there, just thought I would ask for a few opinions and more importantly advice. Ideally I would like a 10 x 2 display Organic LED type but do not think such displays exists, does a 8 x 2 exists, if so do you know where I can buy one? Unfortunately the eBay seller SURE ELECTRONICS no longer stocks the OLED alphanumeric displays :(

The one which I saw on this forum was an Organic LED display 20 x 2 characters;

http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=9698&highlight=organic+LED

I also found a neat little LCD display on Farnell’s website;

http://uk.farnell.com/everbouquet/mc0802a-sgr/lcd-module-alphanumeric-8x2/dp/1137380

EVERBOUQUET - MC0802A-SGR
I am considering using this device but not sure as I have never used any LCD or LED before! Can this LCD be interfaced with the PICAXE? Can it be controlled with a single output or would it require a direct connection?

I have read the interfacing manual but cannot find the name/code of the IC (Serial LCD Firmware IC) as demonstrated on P.34. It also states ‘For more information, see the Serial LCD Firmware datasheet at www.rev-ed.co.uk’. Does anyone know where I can find this manual I have looked in the datasheet section but no sign?

Thanks for reading my post, your help is appreciated as always! :)

inglewoodpete

I think the document you want is called "AXE001_pic_electronics.pdf" and should be found in the documents directory under the programming editor where you have the PE installed. Unfortunately, the PC that I'm using does not have a copy of the PE installed, so I can't confirm this until this evening (W.Aust time).

Edit: It does not appear to be on the Rev-Ed website but I found a copy here. Refer to page 33.

Last edited:

moxhamj