28x1 eeprom i2c interface problem

Pacer

Hi All,
I'm relatively new to PIC programming, and am having some difficulty writing some code to perform a specific task.

I have used a picaxe 28x1 to write some array code to a 24lc256 eeprom using i2c protocol. The code is in blocks of 255 hex values, which I want to use to output from the PIC into a DAC which then outputs a waveform (Direct Digital Synthesis). The code I'm struggling with is I want to be able to read the hex values sequentially from the eeprom, and output them in a similar fashion to the output pins of the PIC, then to repeat indefinately.
So what I need to know is:
Can this be done? and if so how?
Also,
Assuming the above is possible, How do I change the outputted waveform frequency?

Thanking you in advance of you answers.

ylp88

What kind of frequencies are you trying to achieve? i2c is a relatively slow bus and so you may have problems if you require high frequencies which need to you read and write a lot of data across the bus very quickly.

Otherwise, it should be a relatively simple process of using the READI2C command fro read your values back from the EEPROM chip and then passing that data on to the DAC using WRITEI2C or placing the data onto the output pins of the chip (I'm not sure whether you are using a parallel or i2c DAC). You can use a simple FOR loop to advance sequentially through the addresses. Frequency can be altered by adding a delay between each sample point (you may want to filter the output to perform "interpolation" between your sample points), but as I said before, depending on your requirements, you may have troubles achieving higher frequencies.

ylp88

westaust55

provided you are not looking at high frequencies as alluded to by ylp88, then what you suggest is quite possible.

knowing more about the DAC connections as ylp88 has requested will help define the solution.

More information all round would be very helpful in permitting others to better comment/assist.