20X2 Pin C.6 Causing me to go Crazy!! Please Help!

sodeaf

Hey Guys,

Quick Run Down.. I have been playing with Picaxe for about 4 years and have made many Circuit boards.. Im am certainly at the hobby level.. But have learned a lot over the past couple years and have yet to run into something as crazy as this.

My Latest Board consists of a picaxe 20X2, Max7219 and a 12V to 5VDC 800 MA regulator. I have followed all specs from data sheets. I have used this same set up many a times, but I do keep improving the board adding things here and there. I just received 10 New boards on Friday and spend the the weekend soldering it all up. I loaded the program to do basic tests and everything seems fine at this point. I am using pretty much every pin on the chip.

I have a 20 Pin Molex header on the board, At this point I only have 2 Wires connected 12VDC and GROUND. With the Picaxe running and the 7 Segment display Counting up I plug in a wire to the molex connector and the Picaxe Resets (starts from first line of code, I know this for I have a boot sequence programed that is displayed on the 7 segment display) I thought this was a fluke! The wire i plugged in connects to pin C.6 through a 1K Resistor, as well pulled high with a 10K. Simple Negative (low) input that connects to an off board push switch. The wire i connected is 72 Inches long, the other end is not connected to anything at this point. I could see the program reacting as if the button was pushed, but it doesn't, it resets the picaxe, If i unplug this single piece of wire and the re-connect it resets again and again. If I leave the wire connected and touch to ground the input works on the picaxe, and it does what it should via the Code. But i noticed that if I turn my solder iron or Scope with the 72 inch wire just hanging there, it resets. I am using a bench supply to power the board.