20M2 with Stepper Motor Controller PBL3770A - Confused - Please Help!

sodeaf

Hey Guys, I salvaged a Stepper Motor and Controller Board from a Vending Machine.. And thought I would try and control it with a Picaxe 20M2.. I am a Newbie.. So please forgive me if the "Code" or Terminology I use is not 100% Accurate.. I have the board wired to my 20M2 as shown in Picture..

I have read a lot about controlling a stepper motor, but all the info I found is in regards to controlling the motor directly.. instead of threw a type of controller. I understand the concept, but am having a hard time getting the motor to work under load. For instance I can get the motor to move in steps with the following code, but under a load it will not do anything.. (I mean under load in regards to the actual load it was under in the original machine, So I am not adding any more load then for what its original design was for.)

symbol PhaseA = B.0
symbol PhaseB = B.1
symbol Power1 = B.2
symbol Power0 = B.3

Symbol PushSwitch = PinC.0 'Tied High through 10K to 5VDC

High PhaseA
High PhaseB
Low Power1 'Sets Stepper to 60% Power to keep motor in place and not spin freely
High Power0

Main:

If pushswitch = 0 then let b1 = 1 endif
if pushswitch = 1 and B1 = 1 then let b1 = 0 goto spin endif

goto main

Spin:
Low Power0
pause 8
Low PhaseA
pause 4
Low PhaseB
pause 4
high PhaseA
pause 4
low PhaseB
pause 4
High Power0

goto main