120VAC Solenoid and 12V fan control

Brokenrecord

Hey guys, I'm very new to the picaxe scene and got interested in it when I realized I could use a picaxe as a very cheap and infinitely more flexible alternative to a retail greenhouse control system (http://www.4hydro.com/growroom/sentinelEVC1.asp). My plan is to control 3 120VAC solenoids (two for irrigation, 1 for c02) and around six 12V computer fans using a picaxe 28X1 powered by a computer power supply. Before I begin though I'd really like to ask a couple of questions from the experts on this forum.

1. Can a picaxe run reliably off of a 5v lead from a computer power supply?
  2. Can I control the solenoids directly from the picaxe using this relay http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062478&cp=&sr=1&origkw=reed+relay&kw=reed+relay&parentPage=search?
  3. What safety precautions (other than grounding the enclosure) must I be sure of when working with 120VAC?
  4. What is the easiest way to turn on/off 12V computer fans OR vary their speed?

Thanks for all your help and feel free to ask any questions of me if I haven't clarified things enough

atharvai

1) i believe the PICAXE CAN run reliably from a 5V PC supply as that is regulated
2) the relay seems to be 5V maximum. how were u planning to connect the 120V solenoids?
3) isolation of circuit. keep the PICAXE and solenoids seperate even the boards not just by relays. anyone else thoughts on number 3?
4) if u connect the fans directly to PIcaxe they will run at low speed as the max the PICAXE can supply is 5V. PWM is used to vary the speed. try a search on the forum for PC fan or PWM. 28X1 has a different PWM command than the 28X so look that up in manual 2.
This is a good link for PWM on 28X1: http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=10182
u can use the relay u mentioned to just turn on/off the PC fans but not solenoids
thats all from top of my head. I'm sure other forum members know much more detail than me.

Last edited:

Brokenrecord