Project hiccup and need help please

bfgstew

Hi, I am new to picaxe and hope to solve a puzzle.
I have been following and making the following project - http://diyphotography.net/create-an-automated-macro-rails-for-image-stacking.
I have followed the instructions to the letter but it still doesn't want to play ball.

Firstly, even after checking the motor wires for the correct sequence, it didn't run.
I eventually got the motor to run and controlled with the remote, but the optocoupler didn't fire my camera?
Now the motor has stopped running again, it just sits there buzzing.

The only things different to the parts used is I am using the Y129-5 ASTROSYN motor and IR receiver from tech supplies.

I hope you can help as it is getting very frustrating as I can't see where I have gone wrong. I am a multi skilled engineer and am adept with wiring, soldering, drawings and the like, just the programming part is a mystery to me, the code I used has just been copied and pasted from the link, but I have done a syntax check and simulation and they come up with no errors.

Cheers in advance.

Stewart

Armp

The only things different to the parts used is I am using the Y129-5 ASTROSYN motor and IR receiver from tech supplies.
' Black +12V
' White +12V
' Yellow output7
' Red output6
' Brown output5
' Orange output4
Looks like it needs 12V? The original design used a stepper from an old floppy drive, maybe that was 5V?

And I'd beef up the single 0.1uF decoupling cap as well...

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
If so, start to build from scratch.
It will also help to treat the motor and camera opto-coupling as separate entities until you have both working separately. Get PICAXE code for each working while debugging any issues of hardware and software separately.

bfgstew

Eclectic - I will post a photo ASAP, I know what you'll say when you see it though......LOL, and yes that is the motor in question.