v multiplier circuit mod

BrendanP

I need to generate a reasonably high v for a project.

As a start for experimenting I'll use this.
http://www.armory.com/~rstevew/Public/StunGuns/dazer.htm

Looking at it it seems to me that I could do away with everything to the left of the primary winding in the schematic and replace it with a transistor under picaxe control and simply toggle the transistor on and off.

Can any see why this wouldn't work?

Andrew Cowan

Not just one transistor - two.

You'll want both an NPN and a PNP transistor (or a N channel FET and a P channel FET) to pull it high, then low. This is called a totempole driver. An example of this is a PICAXE output - it can sink or source. Just using a single transistor will mean the coil is connected/floating/connected etc. You will get a lot more voltage and power by pulling it high then low then high etc.

A

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
I'm no expert on analogue circuits but possible problems include ...

Q2 switching +V into the transformer primary may appear as a short, collapsing +V to a level the PICAXE is unable to operate at.

Back-EMF from the transformer onto the supply may cause problems.

Generated EMF may cause incorrect PICAXE operation.

Problems seen when operating servos and high-current motors will likely to be issues.

Dippy

Uh oh. The first PICAXE controller Taser?

Why not just get the PICAXE to 'switch' the circuit as-is?
Then you can keep power supplies separate.

BeanieBots

Taser. AKA microprocessor scrambler. Good luck.

No need for the transformer either. The circuit after the transformer is a series of capacitor/diode voltage doublers. You could just increase the number of sections. Alternatively, you could do away with that section and just use a pulse transformer. Either way, it won't be long before we see a post along the lines of:-
"Why does my PICAXE keep reseting" or "why won't my PICAXE download any more".

Dippy's idea is probably the most sensible.