Using i2c pressure sensor

Boondocker

Hello,

I’m considering purchasing the SCP1000 D11 pressure sensor, the i2c model, to measure barometric pressure with a Picaxe 18x chip. This sensor is available on a PCB mount at Digkey. http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=551-1044-ND

Will this device work simply using i2cslave, readi2c and writei2c commands to avoid “bit-banging”? Just like using the DS1307 clock chip.

I’m a novice just started studying i2c communications and uncertain about reading the data sheets properly.
http://www.vti.fi/midcom-serveattachmentguid-e9735f5baea5692c3b9753f9069511c7/scp1000_product_family_specification_rev_0.08.pdf

What I can figure, the slave address is %1001001 and the read pressure (16bit) address is %10000000.

I hope using this sensor will be as easy using the example code below.

I2slave %1001001, i2cfast, i2cword
Pause 60
Read i2c %10000000, (w1)

Thanks for your comments and advice.

MFB

There are some Basic Stamp examples around for using the SPI version of this sensor but the code seems pretty involved, with lots of set-up options. It may however be quite simple to access pressure readings once intialized.

westaust55

The dig-key description is: "SENSOR I2C 30-120KPA PCB"

In the datasheet it states: "SPI and TWI (TWI is very similar to I2C bus)."

Looking at page 25 on for the TWI comms format it does look very similar to i2c in format.

While SPI CLock can be up to 1MHz TWI max speed is 400kHz, so i2cslow or i2cfast may work.

You can always give it a try.

I am about to try using a HOPERF HP03S to an 18X. HP03D woiuld be a better choice in terms of physical connection (0.1in pin spacing) not Surface mount but connection of the S variant was not difficult.

Last edited:

Boondocker

Westaust55,