Troubleshooting unwanted picaxe reset

GreenLeader

Its rather a long story - I think it would take a few A4 pages to explain what I am doing in detail - so I'm going to start with an abbreviated version - hopefully 1/3 of an A4 page:).

This is my first PICAXE project, though I have been playing around for a few months now, testing & learning. I have a 40X1 and AXE022 project board + an AXE033 board with LCD, real time clock and an EEPROM. I have had no problems trying out various things with above devices.

I am now having some problems when I add other things on breadboard to link into the above. I have 3 separate EEPROMS on breadboard but I'm using only the 4k7 resistors on the AXE033 for my i2c. I also have a FRM010 and separate 4x20LCD - working fine. So the 2x16LCD on the AXE033 has been removed. But I am retaining the AXE033 to get to the clock and the EEPROM, whilst I trial things.

My test program is a loop (repeats about 5s) that writes some data to each of the 4 EEPROMS, then reads it back and displays it on an LCD so I can verify that the read/write was good.

The picaxe is resetting itself whenever the i2c (SCL/SDA) lines to the AXE033 are connected (in order to access the DS01307 clock and 24LC256 EEPROM that live on the AXE033).

When I test the program without connecting the i2C lines from AXE022 to AXE033 it runs indefinitely without incident. Of course I just get 65535 back from the reads because the i2c lines are not connected, but this is as expected.

But when I connect the i2c lines, things start out fine, and I can see that the write/read is good. But after about 10 loops, the PICAXE resets and starts again.

I thought I might be drawing too much power from the 5V regulator on the AX022, but I checked and am only drawing about 40mA. The regulator should be good for 100mA. Checking the 5V supply at various points with a multimeter does not show any signs of voltage dropping - steady at 4.96V.