Text communication over 2 wires

tblunt

Hi everyone.
Im brand new to picaxe and Ive been looking around over the last few days doing some research and I have a question for you all wise ones.

What i want to do:
I work in theatre in the auditorium with patrons very close to me. What i would like to do is make a silent com system consisting of 2 small lightweight portable boxes with a screen eg 40x2 or large LCD that can do large font & a keyboard and link them together and be able to type a message on one keyboard and have it display on the other boxes screen.

For a bit more complexity I want it to be able to make a beep in the receiving box & also control the back light so it is off until a message is received then turns on for a time then goes off again & I would like to be able to use the 'F' keys to print an often used word eg. pressing 'F1' '1' 'F2' = Mic 1 Not Working
Oh and the cable to link them together has to be 3 Pin Mic cable eg shield + 2 cores, the power doesnt have to be run on here I can have power supplies for both boxes.

Is this possible with a picaxe or do i need something else?
I know this will be a huge learning curve for me in programing something like this but if it will do what i want i am willing to put in the effort.

Thank you for your advice in advanced
Tom

MartinM57

But TB has the luxury of 3 wires so standard RS232 comms and an investment in some X1/X2 PICAXES that have serin timeouts would surely make the job pretty easy.

@TB - download the Programming Editor (free) and have a good read of manuals 1, 2 and 3, especially the KBIN (also the KEYLED command where it shows you how to wire up an (old-fashioned, not USB) keyboard) and SERIN commands

Everything you seem to require is very do-able, but overall reasonable advanced when put together. How much general electronics/microcontroller/programming experience do you have, and have you invested in any of the PICAXE development boards available from Rev-Ed/TechSupplies?

moxhamj