Speed sensor

Deano11

Hi, I'm a bit new to all this,

I have a AXE110P data logger with the LCD and clock options.

I am looking for a way to measure speed on a bicycle wheel. I looked at the count command but this ties up the PIC while it counts. I need it to be doing other things.

Is there an easy (?) way to sense speed externaly and present that as an analoge voltage so it can be sampled and scaled every second?

Cheers

Deano

eclectic

Deano.

As background, I suggest you make a start ,
by using Advanced search, using the terms

bike speed*

There's been a lot of ideas on the forum.

e

Dippy

Andrew, it's all been done and some excellent detail is available if you do as Eclectic says... search.

There's no point re-inventing the wheel haha :)

Mycroft2152

Andrew, it's all been done and some excellent detail is available if you do as Eclectic says... search.

There's no point re-inventing the wheel haha :)
Dippy,

You stole my line!

I thought plagarism was frowned upon.

But if you are going to steal, then steal from a reliable source.

:0

Myc

Dippy

So sorry Myc.

It was a wheel shame you didn't post first.
So I guess I spoke on your behalf.
I get quite tired of puns.
It's a riminder not to pinch other peoples lines.
Jokes of this caliper should be voided, so I'd better brake off now.

eclectic

Puncturing the jollity,

A possible scenario.

1. Use a fork-mounted reed sensor from a cheap bike-speedo. (Save the display)
2. Use four or eight equally spaced magnets on the spokes.
3. "Read" the input using a separate 08M
4. The 08M "sends" an analogue voltage using PWMout. (With smoothing).

5. The Master Picaxe can read the voltage say once a second.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)