Sleep mode Interrupts

danion64

Greetings,
I'm new here. I'm just getting into the picaxe--it appears to be a great system.

Like many others, I'm interested in chip power consumption, battery/solar operation, low-power standby modes, etc. I've been consuming the posts on underclocking, sleep mode, auto-poweroff circuits, etc.

Sleep mode is less than fully described in the manual. It has a 2.3s time base, which is the max delay using another method...and I read (or was it implied) that the device "wakes from sleep" each 2.3s during an extended sleep interval...that got me wonderng:

Does the picaxe respond to interrupts during sleep (at least every 2.3 seconds...)?

This was addressed here in 2005:
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1014&highlight=sleep+interrupt
In the above "Technical" seems to respond that no, it does not.

I know there have been changes in the firmware/software over the years...i.e. we now have software configurable 'disablebod', so perhaps things have changed in this regard too?

As my chips are in the mail, all I could do was simulate a program to try to answer my own question:

Code:
#picaxe 08m
setint %00000010, %00000010
high 4
main:
	pause 1000
	toggle 4
	sleep 10
	goto main
interrupt:
	high 2
	setint %00000010, %00000010
	return
The simulator behaves contrary to what "Technical" stated in 2005. The interrupt is 'caught' appropriately.

So....what will I find in reality?

(If this is redundant, or is a known bug with the simulator, I apologize in advance...I've done quite a bit of searching but would never claim to have done exhaustively so)

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Does the picaxe respond to interrupts during sleep (at least every 2.3 seconds...)?

This was addressed here in 2005:
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1014&highlight=sleep+interrupt
In the above "Technical" seems to respond that no, it does not.
Welcome to the PICAXE forum,