Project - Funky LED Coffee Table

andrew11

hey all,

I am planning a project with which I would use PICAXE microcontrollers and what not and I wanted to make sure it was possible since I am quite new to the world of microcontrollers...

The overall project is this...

a coffee table (fairly simple so far ey)
similar to the attached photograph, but without the centre piece of wood and the middle section is frosted glass.
beneath the glass is a whole bunch of LEDs (possibly over 100) i think ill be able to achieve such a high amount through something called chalieplexing or multiplexing. (again im quite new to this so i am unsure) and also a large amout of sensors. not sure what kind, looking to be LDRs at the moment.
when you say touch the surface of the table there is a ripple effect generated from the your hand.
and the rest of the time there would be funky ambience. im also thinking of including a feature that when you put down a glass coaster, rimmed with metal the table senses the metal and realises there is a coaster on the table and plays funky lights up through your glass.

yes i am aware this is quite a large and probably very difficult project for a novice but i have alot of time and are willing and wanting to learn :)

if you could offer your opinions and/or suggestions that would be much appreciated.

cheers

Attachments

andrew11

Yer I had a look at a few of them but myproject is for a symester long subject at school called personal project and although the use of kits a such isnt prohibeted I would really like to do this pretty much from scratch. and the ripple effect seen in the interactive LED panel is kind of what I want to achieve but I want to create a more cirular motion. as i dont like how they have a had about half of each panel evenly spread and just cycled through them.

SilentScreamer

Nice project though don't forget the current limits of each chip - http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=11963