Program Editor Language and serial bit output.

PNeil

Hello everyone, I am new to PICAXE programming. I would like to know if it is possible to create an array of bits (not bytes) and send them serially out of one of the micro-controller pins. I explore the eeprom and serout command and they seem to work with only bytes, not bits.

I have a LED display with (built in) led driver chip ST2225A. It requires 36 bits at a time to be sent to the chip. (1 start bit and 35 others).

I am a MFC and C++ programmer, I did BASIC years.. ago.

thanks.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
It should be possible. This is called "bit-banging" where the software sets an output line high or low for however long it needs to be then moves onto the next bit, or, instead of fixed-time periods per bit a separate line is pulsed high or low to 'clock the data out'.

moxhamj

That chip would work perfectly with a picaxe. It has a data and a clock line, so it does not matter whether you clock the data in slow or fast. You could write the code slow initially with pauses then speed it up by removing the pause statements.

You will need to build your group of 36 bits but because timing is not an issue, you could build them in (say) groups of 8 and send out 8, then build the next group.

westaust55

Which PICAXE do you have?

If it is the 28X1 or the 40X1 life should be easier. The SHIFTOUT command (see manual 2 at page 166 in Rev 6.5b) allows you to define the number of bits to transfer from each byte.

For 35 bits you could try:

Code:
SHIFTOUT sclk, sdata, mode, (b1, b2, b3, b4, b5/3)
so 4 bytes at 8 bits each then 3 bits from the 5th byte to get 35 bytes in total.

Note: may need b5/4 if start bit needs to be the first bit of b1 and part of the data stream

otherwise if your PICAXE is not an X1 part then you need to look at the code example given in manual 2 immediately after the SHIFTOUT commands details for an example of "Bit Bashing".

EDIT: