picaxe datalogger

del555

G'day all..my first post as a complete newbie, just about to take the plunge into picaxe!....I'd like to start with the datalogger, but have a question that I hope someone can help with.
What is the fastest rate at which I can take samples?..the Options dialogue implies that 1 second is the highest rate..is that correct?...I'd like to be able to sample at say 20 or 50 millisecond intervals for a few seconds (assume plenty of memory!)....is this possible, or would I need to be looking at a DIY job with a 28X?.....sorry if this is a bit elementary, but any guidance would be appreciated....many thanks......Derek

manuka

Welcome- you can certainly work more rapidly than a second, & that 50msec may be doable, but what variables are trying to log? DIY PICAXE data loggers abound ( I've several at => www.picaxe.orcon.net.nz), but limited memory usually means slow logging ( say temps. every minute for ~ an hour) may be more useful. Some sensors are slow reading anyway - DS18B20 take 750msec per reading.

It's usually recommended to "flash a few LEDs" for your first project by the way ! Stan

womai

There have been many forum threads on the past about dataloggers, and I can remember at least one about how to maximize sample rate.

Depending on clock speed etc., the Picaxe can sample up to well over 1000 samples/sec. One other limitation is storage speed - if you write your samples to an EEPROM (eg. Microchip 24LC512), that needs some wait time before you can write more data (typically 5ms between writes); modern EEPROMs (the 24LC512 included) have page write modes where with some restrictions you can write a block of several bytes at once, but you still need the wait time between block writes. One workaround is to use more than one EEPROM and distribute subsequent writes between them.