Mouser

Dippy

I've just received (and I'm sure a zillion others have too) a mailshot from Mouser.

It starts:
"Mouser is proud to announce the opening of our new UK customer service centre on Monday, February 2, 2009. "

So, for those 'hard to find in UK" bits its worth a squizz.

jglenn

I've been using mouser for almost 2 decades, they generally have lower costs than especially digikey and others. There used to be a fair amount of shipping errors, wrong parts that drove me nuts in my small business. Digikey never makes mistakes. One thing that can get you, if you depend on a certain part being available, like odd asian funny switches, or even beepers and sometimes chips, is be aware that once in awhile if they run out, it can take up to 2 months for more to come in, so keep good floor stock. When Freescale moved their sensor line to china, a part I needed was not avail for 3 months, it caused one of my products to almost fail, lost a good UK distrib. Live and let learn.

moxhamj

Mouser have great prices. They even sent me a catalogue with my last order. If you have a local store in the UK then that should help a lot with shipping. Eg - buy a chip in the US and they will send it to you for $4.95 via US postal service or $5.61 via UPS. Buy the same chip if you live in Australia and it will be $30 USPS or $70 UPS. Great value for a 25c chip. I have no idea why shipping is so high given many small firms in the US can post to Australia using the US postal service for only $3-4. Maybe because they include that heavy catalogue with each order? Futurlec do postage worldwide, anywhere, for a flat $4.
Mouser's big advantage is an amazing range and great prices. Its big disadvantage is rip-off shipping costs. But if the store is local, I'll bet those shipping costs will come way down. You lucky lucky ...

jglenn

I use standard airmail and have not lost anything yet over dozens of shipments to your country, and about anywhere. Going to Africa tomorrow! Cost $4 usually.