LED MATRIX 5 cols and 7 rows problem

I just started a project to make a sign with 6 LED matrix panels. This is my first attempt in this area and need help (so far I have worked with data loggers on-board RC aeroplanes). I am using the circuit shown below the code and the arrangement of the LED's is as follows:
Each row is the cathode for 5 LED's and each column is the anode for 7 LED's. I connected the rows to the output pins 0 to 7 and the columns to portc pins 0 to 4 (see circuit below). When I turn onthe power the top row lights up and stays that way, nothing else hapens.
The test code is as follows:
Code:
Symbol Kick = output7
Symbol Wake = input6
Symbol Dly = b0
Symbol N = b1
Symbol Turns = b3
Turns =100
Dly = 10
let dirsc = %00011111
		LetterA:
Wake = 0
For N=0 to Turns		
portc = 1
let pins = %01100000
pause Dly
portc = 2
let pins = %01010111
pause b0
portc = 4
let pins = %00110111
pause b0
portc = 8
let pins = %01010111
Pause b0
portc = 16
let pins = %01100000
pause b0
Let pins = %11111111
If N<Turns then goto Cont
High Kick
N = 0
	Cont:
If Wake = 1 then goto LetterI
Next N

Attachments

You should try taking a look at the MAX7219 chip, either in this forum or google. I have only just found it myself, and plan to use it for a project I am currently working on. I can not advise you much myself, but plenty of people can. It will allow for up to 64 LEDs, and only uses three output pins.
I believe you can order a free sample from the website, although I have yet to try this. If anyone knows about the free samples (and weather they are available in the UK), please get in touch with me.