LCD help

julybride

Hi All,
I am completely new to electronics and am currently trying to undertake a leap of faith!!! for my first project. I am looking to use an LCD screen to display information about timing i.e. when the interval between times being measured gets to 5 minutes display this message. I (at the moment) think I'll do okay with the programming. Unfortunately I think the screen picaxe have is too big. Does anyone have experience of using other manufacturers LCD screens with picaxe?

Any suggestions where i may be able to purchase a smaller screen?

Thanks

BeanieBots

Welcome to the forum!

To be quite honest, when it comes to displays, none really come any cheaper, easier or smaller than Rev-Ed's own AXE033 2 line by sixteen character LCD screen.

I've used many (>20) different types of the 1000's that you could choose from. It would be impossible to list all the pro's & con's here. I would strongly suggest to only look at ones with a serial interface unless you don't mind using up a significant amount of your PICAXE I/O pins and memory.

First things to decide are:-
budget
size
colour
backlit or not.

If you can answer those, then maybe somebody can point you to a site.
Otherwise it's use google and browse for a day or two!

Try "Scott Edwards" as a starting point.

Last edited:

kevrus

As BB says, the Rev-Ed display would be a safe bet. I can highly recommend the serial LCD driver chip from Rev-Ed, it works a treat. You will need to incorporate it into your pcb, or (as I do), design a piggyback board for the display.
I have seen a small 2 x 8 display on ebay which may be of interest.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
With a larger display it should be possible to use the internal programmable characters of the LCD to create a 'chunky digit' display which may be more readable.