i2c comms to speech module SP030

LongRat

Hello everyone,
first of all, this is my first post on the forum. I'm a new Picaxe user, I am a hobbyist/experimeter type person. My interests are generally RC type applications - cars and planes. I've been hanging around here for a few months, seems there is some really good knowledge here and some seriously impressive projects!

Anyway my question regards my first project. It is a 40X1 based turbo boost gauge that reads pressure from a MAP sensor and outputs the value to an LCD, also a 13 element array of LEDs and reports various things to the speech module. This is a simple problem so it's a bit annoying to have to ask, but... I can't seem to get the SP030 to speak the value in a variable - only the variable name or ASCII character that maps onto the value of the variable (i.e. 65 = "A"). What am I doing wrong?

Code:
main:
	symbol boostunit = b0
	symbol boosttenth = b1

boosttenth = 65

i2cslave $c4,i2cfast,i2cbyte
	writei2c 0,(0,2,5,3,boosttenth,0)

writei2c 0,(64)

eclectic

Welcome to the Forum.

I don't own the Speech module, so,
I can't speak from knowledge.

However, as a guess,
perhaps break up the value
into two digits, then play from there?

Code:
main:
	symbol boostunit = b0
	symbol boosttenth = b1	
	boosttenth = 65		
	i2cslave $c4,i2cfast,i2cbyte
	writei2c 0,(0,2,5,3,boosttenth,0)
	writei2c 0,(64)	

;additions?  ****

b2 = b1/ 10   ;6
	b3 = b1//10   ;5

b2 = b2 + 48
	b3 = b3 + 48

sertxd (b2,"  ",b3) ;simulation test

;	then write b2, then write b3.
e

Last edited:

westaust55

speech module SP030

have not used my SPE030 for a while but it is primarily a text to speech synthesis unit.
I did a lot of programming including own text to speech synthesis with an SC01 chip long ago (around 1980).

Recall the SPE030 will say an individual digit eg: 6 is said as "six"