Help for a newbie: GPS - Picaxe - Device

yassassin

Hello,
I would like to retrieve coordinates from a GPS and to send this Output to another external device, like a video or audio player.
The problem is that I'm a newbie and I don't know where to start. :confused:

So please:
- can you suggest me a GPS that is able to send outputs to a Picaxe Chip?
- can you suggest me the right Picaxe Chip that is able to elaborate GPS outputs and send them to another device?
- later on, can you suggest me the specification for the final device (audio or video)? Which kind of Inputs and in which format I will be able to send to this device?

Thanks in advance,
Alex

Andrew Cowan

- can you suggest me a GPS that is able to send outputs to a Picaxe Chip?

Have a look at what Sparkfun offer - all of those will interface to a PICAXE via serial.

- can you suggest me the right Picaxe Chip that is able to elaborate GPS outputs and send them to another device?

Most will - I'd recommend a 20X2 for speed, ease of use, cost, size and program space.

- later on, can you suggest me the specification for the final device (audio or video)? Which kind of Inputs and in which format I will be able to send to this device?

Is it OK to output it to an LCD display? If so, have a look at the axe033 that Rev-Ed sell.

A

yassassin

Hi, thanks a lot for your help guys!!!
I need some other clarifications, so thanks in advance for your patience! :eek:

I think I'll need the following items:
- picaxe chip (link)
- programming software
- serial cable
- electronic board
- gps receiver (link)

Ok for the chip, but what about the other items? Which board? Which cable? Which software? And which gps??

Thank you very much... I do really appreciate your kindness!!! ;)

MPep

Programming Software and Serial Cable you should have.
If not, download Software and importantly also the manuals..
Serial cable - depends if your computer has serial ports or USB only. Refer to the manuals.