First Project - Traffic Light

rbwilliams

Hello,
I am new to PICAXE. I am trying to create a Traffic Light with the 08M. It power up in "auto mode" (changing lights over time), at the same time is scanning inputs for a button press (pseudo-interrupt) that takes it out of "auto-mode" and goes into "manual mode" where the button press causes its corresponding output to stay lit, until another button is pressed. Resetting 08M puts it back into "auto-mode".

This is my code so far:

Code:
init:
let dirs=%0000111

main:	

let pins = %00000001
	gosub chkbuttons_loop
	let pins = %00000010
	gosub chkbuttons_loop
	let pins = %00000100
	gosub chkbuttons_loop

goto main

chkbuttons_loop:
		for b1 = 1 to 10
		gosub chkred
		gosub chkyellow
		gosub chkgreen
		next b1

chkred:
	if pin3 = 1 and pin4=0 then goto lightred
	pause 100
	return

chkyellow:
	if pin3=1 and pin4 = 1 then goto lightyellow
	pause 100
	return

chkgreen:
	if pin4=1 and pin3=0 then goto lightgreen	
	pause 10
	return

lightred:
	pause 200
	if pin3 = 1 and pin4=0 then goto RED
	goto chkyellow

lightyellow:
	pause 200
	if pin3=1 and pin4=1 then goto YELLOW
	goto chkgreen

lightgreen:
	pause 200
	if pin4=1 and pin3=0 then goto GREEN
	goto chkred

RED:
	High 0
	Low 1
	low 2
	goto chkbuttons2

YELLOW:
	Low 0
	High 1
	Low 2
	goto chkbuttons2

GREEN:
	Low 0
	Low 1
	High 2
      goto chkbuttons2

chkbuttons2:
 		do
            gosub chkred
		gosub chkyellow
		gosub chkgreen
		loop
The stack overruns because I have too many nested loops. Any ideas about how I should change the code? Any suggestions as to how I show code in a message?

Thanks,
Roger

Attachments

Last edited:

rbwilliams

Traffic Light revised

Thanks for the advice of putting in comments.

I revised my code a little. Not sure it is helped, but maybe its easier to understand, it has comments too.

Code:
init:
let dirs=%0000111

auto_mode:	

let pins = %00000001   'Light "RED" output 0
	gosub chkbuttons_loop  'Loop acts as delay