Firefighter needs help with LED strobes

deeredude88

I am a 17 year old high school student that is also a volunteer firefighter. I am trying to build a lightbar for the rear window of my truck to warn traffic. I need to use blue and white LED's and I want them to strobe, or have some sort of pattern. I am trying to use the most amount of LED's possible (around 60). My plan is to make "blocks" of 6 leds, and then stagger the colors in a row on the bar. (ex. blue block, white block, blue block and so on...).

I am extremely good with vehicle wiring (12v) but I am only beginning with Picaxe type wiring, so try to keep it simple for me.

I also have a shop teacher that is extremely smart with anything electrical, so if you use a term that I don't understand, I will ask him.
Thank you so much,
Scott Erickson
Altona Fire and Rescue

Marcwolf

Firetruck strobes

Hi there.
I have done a similar things to our trucks - although not quite as elaborate.

I used Mosfets to power the lights from the PicAxe. It also meant that I could do things like hook the headlights into the circuit for the flash.

Take care
Dave

Andrew Cowan

Have you got your eye on any particular LEDs? I don't know how bright you want them, or how dark it will be when you want them to be seen (and by who), but this could be expensive.

Blue and white are generally the most pricey colours.

Andrew

alband

Just to start you off, do a search of the 7806 voltage regulator. That will get 12V down the 5v a PICAXE needs.
I assume size isn't much of an issue so I'd recomend using so high power relays. A PICAXE itself can give large output voltages so you can wire up your LED's with relays so your PICAXE controls them but the fire engine (I don't know much on the subject but I pretty sure you'll some kind of power on that thing) will provide the power.
This is a useful sheet: http://www.economatics-education.co.uk/images/additional/Download Files/picl manual.pdf