DPDT Relay - DC motor control: Forwards/Reverse

slimplynth

Hello all...I've had some DPDT relays in my box for ages and now have a use for them - just need some help please.

the relays are these... http://81.134.141.187/epages/Store.storefront/?ObjectPath=/Shops/Store.TechSupplies/Products/REL002

I got a data sheet from here, diagram in attached image.

The trouble Im having is using them as per the drawing below.

The attached Image1 would make this easier if the pins were labelled. (I've googled myself for KL2P-F to no avail - there are plenty of relays which I can find pinouts for but not this one and I'll be gutted if my guessing goofs it up)

Cheers

edit: My guess was that the terminals at the end (and in line with the notch) are the NC terminals shown above

Attachments

Last edited:

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The circuit looks okay to me but I'm no expert on transistors. You can check the relay pinout with a resistance / continuity meter, determine which are the coil and N/C contacts, apply voltage to the coil and find the N/O contacts ( which will have closed ), from that determine which are the common points of the switches and which switch is which.

wapo54001

Don't forget the diode around the relay coil.

You're using these two transistors as switches. Why not use FETs instead?

Don't you want to use pulldown resistors on the bases/gates to insure proper operation?

Depending upon the power requirement vs contact specs, you might want to introduce a delay to allow the relay to settle before applying power across the contacts. Easily done with a picaxe

Andrew Cowan

The circuit looks good (plus the diode as wapo points out - pointy end to +V).

You shouldn't need pulldown resistors on the transistors, as PICAXE outputs are totem-pole outputs (+V,0V).

A

wapo54001