counting changes in a given time interval

Boom

Hi, I'm new at using the picaxe and I am trying to make a simple programme with the 18x that would check how many times a change is detected in the adc input in a given period of time ... say 2 seconds.

So I have my programme which constantly checks and counts the amount of changes ... but I don't know how to control the time.

any ideas?

Michael 2727

Boom welcome to the forum.
If we don't know what you've already done it's little hard to guess the best advice for you.
Paste the code you have so far, then we can get working on a solution.

Dippy once had a Crystal Ball I think, mine is broken, and
Clairvoyants are a rip off these days.

moxhamj

Re the time, say you check it 10x a second. Put it in a loop eg;
main: readadc
gosub checkchanged
pause 100
goto main

Then regarding checking changes, are you comparing the value and seeing if the difference is greater than a certain amount? (like using the abs function in visual basic) Or are you checking they are exactly the same (there may be some input jitter - it depends if you have filtering or not, long wires, RF interference etc).

Once you have that working reliably, then you can move the code to a new subroutine, reset a counter to zero, run it over 2 secs (eg 20 loops with a pause of 100 each loop) and add one to that counter each time a change happens.

Last edited:

Boom

My code

Thanks for your fast replies, I need to check how many changes are detected in b0 that are greater than b2 whithin a given time period of b4

b0 = 0 ' reading
b1 = 0 ' last reading
b2 = 50 ' Threshold
b3 = 0 ' Count
b4 = 2000 ' 2 seconds

while pin0 = 1 ' pin0 enable/disable

readadc 1, b2
readadc 0, b0

if (b0 - b1) > b2 or (b1 - b0) > b2 then gosub movement ' this is because i
' don't know how to get an absolute value

b1 = b0

' Here or above I would need to check if the timer has
' reached my time limit (b4), say 2 seconds so I can check