Controlling Motor Speed with PICAXE

Russel Lawrence

Hi,

I'm a university student at Newcastle and I have recently purchased PICAXE software to help me with a project of mine.
I have got to be able to set up a system of two spinning wheels on seperate motors (miniature DC motors) but when one wheel is set to a higher speed a programme has to recognise this and brake the wheel untill they are rotating at the same speed.

So far I have worked out how to rig up the experiment but even though I keep trying to learn Im finding that I still dont know what programme to write that would allow a PICAXE18X chip to turn on a brake if a motor is running to fast.

Any help that anyone can give would be really appreciated becasue I am really struggling.

Thanks,
Russel

eclectic

Russel.
Could you post more details (circuit/hardware specs.) of your
present setup?
There is a great deal of info on motor control on the Forum,
using transistors / H bridges / PWMout etc.

e

Mycroft2152

Russel,

Welcome to the forum!

A project is easier , if you break it down into the simple parts, get each one working, then combine them.

For your project, you need to first, be able to measure the speed of the motor. How are you doing this?

Second, be able to control the speed of the motor. How are you doing this?

Then you can compare the speeds and adjust the motors.

Myc

Russel Lawrence

Thanks for the quick responses,

I am actually using attactching a small fly wheel to both motors. The fly wheel has holes in them and I am using a photoelectric sensor to detect how many flashes of light pass per second. This is how Im hopefull going to measure the speed of the motors, and then I will speed one motor up (independantly of the other) and when this is detected a small solenoid will push against the fly wheel to slow it down.
I have tried to draw a daigram to explain (apologies for how bad it is)
Thanks again

Attachments

Andrew Cowan