Controlling a 120V AC Motor

firestorm961

I am working on a project where I need to control a motor that runs on 120V AC, anywhere between 1-5 amps. I seem to be at a loss at finding a suitable relay, mosfet, or even photocoupler to handle this. Any suggestions on hardware to do this?

inglewoodpete

120v AC is a lethal voltage. If you are at a loss to know how to control a 120v motor, I suggest you may not be ready to work with mains voltages.

Please consider this risk to your life. The mains is not something you experiment with.

BeanieBots

For safety reasons use a relay. There must be hundreds of suitable ones available.
How are you powering the PICAXE?
If you have 12v/24v available, then your relay choice gets even larger.

I also agree with the comments made by inglewoodpete.

firestorm961

Not so much at a loss on controlling the motor, just finding the correct hardware to not destroy a picaxe. I deal with 240V all the time at work, I'm just new to using microcontrollers.

edit: using a 9V power source, regulating it to 5V for the picaxe of course.

Andrew Cowan

You could use a triac, but I would recommend a relay. Much simpler, easier, and safer. Note tha you'll need a transistor (BC639?) between the PICAXE and relay coil.

A

firestorm961

Thanks for everyone's advice. Between what was said here, some more research, and a schematic doing very close to what I am looking for, I've got it figured out.

KMoffett

No one has mentioned SSR's (solid state relays). The input LED on these can be driven directly from a PICAXE output, some without even an external resistor. The output current rating should be doubled for an inductive loads like motors. They are frequently available on sale from MPJA for a reasonable price: http://www.mpja.com/products.asp?dept=133

Ken

gengis

KMoffett Agreed SSR's are hard to beat for rugged on-off mains switching and a safe way to do it.