Control a DC speed controller

Lostmyed

Hi.

I'm about to purchase 2x 12V motor speed controller to drive a remote control golf trolley (4QD Porter). They can be controlled via 0-5K resistor or 0-3v. I want to use a picaxe 28 to control the speed for various reasons, what would be the easiest way to control them ?

I would prefer not to have a servo mechanically driving a pot, is there a simple solution.

Please assume total ignorance, i am very new to this.

Many thanks.

MartinM57

Possibly (a simple'ish solution) - got any references for the controllers (part number, data sheet etc)?

Google for "PICAXE motor speed controller" and you will find a lot of info

http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=6384 points at a webpage that was excellent, but appears to have disappeared :(
...but there's some useful words further down the page. Maybe PM HamRadioAddict...or he may see this thread...

Lostmyed

Thanks for the links - nice projects too..
Unfortunatly building the speed controllers from scratch is a little out of my comfort zone for the time being..
I just want to control some bought out units for now.

The units i'm looking at are here:
http://www.4qd.co.uk/prod/ptr.html

Again thanks

Dippy

Have a look into RCing (filtering) a PWM output.
Data sheet says low imp so maybe use an op-amp.
Over-voltage can be built in or run PICAXE at 3V3 if it will stand it.

Several ways, but chew that one over first.

I'm sure Andrew Cowan had a similar setup.

Andrew Cowan

Good memory Dippy. I've got a PWM output, a zener to catch any surges (regulator failures etc), and an RC network to give a smooth signal. It works well. I'll dig up a circuit diagram tommorrow and stick it up here.

A

goom

Have a look at electronic speed controllers (ESC's) as used for RC models (e.g. boats and cars). They all use inputs from a radio receiver, so can easily be driven directly using the SERVO/SERVOPOS commands.