coin cell for axe120

coin12

i have axe120 microrobot it runs with 4 AA batteries i added additional circuits to the robot so the robot became too heavy to run.... so is it ok to replace the 4 AA's with two 3v coin cell just to make the robot loss some weight or im going to face problems ?

Dippy

Coin cells are only for low current stuff. You will kill them pretty quickly I would have thought.

I'll leave others to provide long detailed posts about coin cell capacities and maximum current loads and running them in series (and as an aside, parallel too) etc.

I would suggest that you get some info (i.e. the DATA SHEETs) on coin cells and look at their specs re: the above.
PLEASE read up on them especially mAh capacities and current limits. It IS important. Then measure the electrical specs of your little bot and dig out your calculator.

Could you use 4 x AAAs and suffer the reduced runtime? I have no experience with that product. Maybe there are some other battery options too. Or even some other weight-loss options.

westaust55

If you are looking at something like the CR3032 coin cells then the answer is NO.

While these cell have a capacity of 0.235mAh there is a max continuous current draw of 3mA whereas the AXE120 with motors loaded at say 66% will draw around 200mA.

Since you say the motors are having trouble moving the micro-bot suggests the load is more like 100% or 300mA or more

Last edited:

manuka

Mmmm- "too heavy to run"- sounds like the infamous R101 1930 hydrogen airship that became rain soaked & crashed en route to India. It transpired, along with all the food & -ah-considerable drink demanded by a colonial journey, that such extra trifles as a piano had been stashed aboard. Hence can you jettison some baggage maybe?