Cant get started - no downloads working...

emdanx

Hi All,

First post here, total newbie, sorry for the basic problem...but I'm stuck...

I've bought a 08M, built up the download circuit as per various instructions. The circuit looks correct. I've got 3xAAA batteries delivering the 4.5V.

The download resistors, 22K and 10K seem to be placed correctly.

In the Programming Editor, the serial connection "test" works, ie I measure VDC on serial in pin and ground, and press the little LED icon. The voltage switches from -0.6VDC to 4.5VDC each time I press the icon.

But trying to download the code, always comes up with "Error hardware not found on Com2...".

I've attached a photo of my breadboard...

Any help appreciated!

Attachments

moxhamj

Layout looks fine to me. My computer works on COM1, but if you are getting a voltage change then it sounds like the com port is correct. Can you measure the volts coming out of the serial port before it goes through the resistors. Just check it is -9 or -12V. Some computers output lower negative voltages.

emdanx

Layout looks fine to me. My computer works on COM1, but if you are getting a voltage change then it sounds like the com port is correct. Can you measure the volts coming out of the serial port before it goes through the resistors. Just check it is -9 or -12V. Some computers output lower negative voltages.
Thanks, I'm using Com2 because its easier to access on my PC. I get the same result if I use Com1.

I've measured the volts between out of the serial lead, and its -10.5V.

I don't know if this is weird or not, but... my order from my supplier says "picaxe 08m pic12f683i/p", and the chip supplied says 12f683i/p on it. If I google 12f683i/p it points to Microchip.com, which would appear to be a different chip altogether.

Have they sent me the wrong chip?

emdanx

Hi emdanx,
The 08M is what you have got. PICAXE chips are based on Microchip PIC's.
Grant