Serial LCD with 08M

Dave E

I am trying to get a serial LCD (Parallax 2x16 with backlight) to work with a 08M. See below for code. The data sheet for the display is attached. It looks like I need to use a baud mode of N2400 but all I get is trash all over the display. Using T2400, I do get some correct numbers but only two at a time and sometimes in the wrong order. I am new to PICAXE and would appreciate any help.

SETFREQ M4
HIGH 1
SEROUT 1, T2400, (22) 'TURN LCD ON
PAUSE 100
SEROUT 1, T2400, (17, 12) 'TURN BACKLIGHT ON AND CLEAR SCREEN
PAUSE 100

MAIN:
HIGH 2 'TURN LED ON
B3 = 123
SEROUT 1, T2400, (130, " ", 130, #B3) 'SET CURSOR AT POSITION 130, PRINT B3 TO LCD
PAUSE 500
LOW 2 'TURN LED OFF
GOTO MAIN

Attachments

nzdragme

Try a resistor on the serial in line going to either ground or +5v depending on whether you decide to stick with "t" or "n". You will find more info about this in the picaxe manual (the part on interfacing to lcd displays) and also if you search the forum here for "serial lcd". I had a similar problem last week and this is what fixed it. Good luck!

Dave E

Thanks for the reply nzdragme. I tried a 10K, 1K and a 330 ohm resistor in both +5 and gnd with both T2400 and N2400 but had no effect. Any other ideas?

westaust55

Have you set the LCD module switches (on the back) to SW1 to ON and SW2 to OFF as indicated in the datasheet for the Baud Rate of 2400 ?

Dave E

Thanks for the reply westaust55.
Yes, I checked the switches several times. Cycled power several times.
I assume that I need to use the control codes for the LCD that I am using such as decimal 22 to turn the display on, decimal 12 to clear screen and decimal 17 to turn backlight on. The manual for the AXE033 LCD shows a different set of control codes.