100 baud

Coyoteboy

Is it possible for me to get an 08M to communicate at 100 baud? My hardware is especially slow and im struggling to find software for a PC that can adopt 100 baud - they all seem to be 110 only and im not that good at writing C to do my own LOL. Figured it might be easier to use a picaxe as a sort of buffer

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
Not easily no.

You could try underclocking the 08M to 31kHZ and then using the 1200 baud setting but there is still a bit of error in the freq. rate. However depending on the third party system it may work.

Coyoteboy

Ahh right - i had thought of underclocking it but wasnt sure how low i could go without problems. The other hardware is a rather ham-fisted serial datastream from my engine control unit, and all i have is information that its 100 baud and a fixed repeating set of byte variables. I've constructed an interfacign circuit for a PC using a MAX232 IC so I'll have a crack at writing my own setup.

J

manuka

Serial slowdown, by 08M underclocking, works very well to the extent that individual bits can even be heard Morse style ! Naturally BOTH Rx & TX have to be underclocked the same.

premelec

Does the clocking revert to proper programing clocking when you turn the power off - i.e. must it be called in the software and is volatile...? Thanks

manuka

Yes - reverts to normal 4MHz speed when powered down. That had me worried too, as I'd visions of being locked in slow coach limbo! Stan

womai

At that speed (100 baud) bit-banging the serial data stream should work reasonably well - provided you have an oscilloscope to tweak the exact delays. That would also offer the possibility of implementing non-blocking serial input... Since it's so slow, one of the free "soft scopes" that use the PC's audio input would be enough.

Wolfgang

manuka